Coming to a conclusion

On the cool down

Like I told you in my About Me section, I am writing this blog for my web-based journalism class and the quarter is almost over. It has been a great race and I loved the journey of blogging about such a fantastic sport.

Why I love blogging

First I’ll begin by stating there wasn’t anything that was necessarily bad with blogging. Perhaps the main challenge was learning the ins and outs of blogging. It was difficult to choose a blog page style because there is so much to choose from. It was also difficult to learn how to use your blog, for example the pictures on my home page were a burden to post. They have very strict picture sizes so it took me a while to figure out the exact measurements needed. After multiple video tutorials and a lot of WordPress support forums I figured it out; I needed pictures to be edited 470 by 140 for my home page.

Alright, now time for the good. First of all I am extremely happy that I chose to write about running for many reasons. Running has always been a part of my life so it is something that I am still extremely interested in. With a cross country and track runner’s perspective I had a lot of knowledge going into my blog, which allowed my to relate with my sources. Second of all, I was able to meet runners like Tera Dube and Larry Ng who I wouldn’t necessarily have met otherwise. They work at Running Warehouse and helped me multiple times with projects and blog posts.

My absolute favorite thing about my blog is that it made me run. Or at least, my followers and viewers pushed me to go explore the community and go for a run. Certain days I was overwhelmed with work, articles being due for my college newspaper, and studying for exams but if I had to post Trail of the Week I had to get out there and run.

The Trail of the Week post were the most rewarding. Some of those trails I hadn’t tried before and I always received a lot of positive feedback. Nothing made me happier than when people would tell me that they tried out certain trails because they looked inviting on my blog.

My first goal with this blog was to motivate people to go for a run and explore their surroundings, and I am quite confident that I reached my goal.

Total Viewage

Thus far I have a total of 5,300 blog views.

Onward…

I am planning on continuing my blog after the class is over, I am enjoying it too much to leave it be.

Keep an eye out for my video project! I am working hard on it and can’t wait for it to be completed and posted.

Thank you for the support.

Ashley

Leave a Reply

