Why run?

“Why do you like running so much? You’re crazy!”

If I hear anyone say one more time I think I’m going to lose it. So, I dedicate this blog post to all of the confused people who just don’t understand why we run.

There is no need to go into the health reasons. It is common knowledge that running is a great cardio workout and a great way to stay in shape. However, running is more than just exercise. I am focused on all of the other reasons why we run.

I had the pleasure of talking to Larry Ng who works at Running Warehouse in San Luis Obispo. He told me his reasoning for running.

"I run to be able to explore and find a sense of adventure. On foot I see things differently. I have a new perspective; I see things I wouldn't see in my car or on my bike." Larry Ng

“I run to be able to explore and find a sense of adventure. On foot I see things differently. I have a new perspective; I see things I wouldn’t see in my car or on my bike.” Larry Ng

Ng said that trail running is a great way to discover our community. “So many people talk about traveling the world but there are so many sights around us to enjoy in our own community.”

Tera Dubé of Running Warehouse agreed saying that trail running, “takes you places you don’t usually get to see until you get on the trail.”

Dubé continued, “I enjoy trail running so much that if I couldn’t I would be very disappointed. I just get total satisfaction out of running. It is my time to get away and have time for myself.”

"I am very competitive. There is always room for improvement." Tera Dubé

“I am very competitive. There is always room for improvement.” Tera Dubé

Ryan Suarez, a junior on the Cal Poly Distance Club, is also competitive. “I like to race. I get faster when I am running on a trail and I get a big head when I go flying by people.”

"Give yourself a break from the cars, buildings, and stoplights. It is just you and the trail. Let your mind wander." Ryan Suarez

“Give yourself a break from the cars, buildings, and stoplights. It is just you and the trail. Let your mind wander.” Ryan Suarez

Suarez advised beginning runners to get out there everyday, even if it is just a mile a day.

Hopefully this insight helps the non-runner understand why we’re so “crazy” to love running. Running can be a work out or even a punishment, but for some it is the drug that keeps them sane. Once you start running it can be – actually it will be – painful. It won’t take long until that wall is broken down, and once you break it there is no going back. Running becomes much more enjoyable and something that you look forward to instead of dreading.

To summarize, we run to:

  1. Explore our surroundings
  2. Find peace amongst our busy lives
  3. Enjoy the outdoors and have a sense of adventure
  4. Show off to others
  5. Improve our times and reach our goals
  6. Have time for ourselves
  7. Enjoy a new perspective that we otherwise wouldn’t have

So I turn the question back to you – Why not run?

Stay tuned, this Sunday I will be posting the first Trail of the Week!

One response to “Why run?

Leave a Reply

